UNP submits Ranil’s name to National List MP Seat

The United National Party (UNP) has informed the Election Commission regarding the appointment to their National List MP seat in the parliament.

Party leader Ranil Wickremesinghe was previously nominated for the vacancy.

Accordingly, a letter informing of the UNP’s decision to name the former Prime Minister to occupy the vacant National List MP seat was handed over to the commission today (16).

The letter was officially handed over to the Chairman of the Election Commission Nimal G. Punchihewa by the UNP general-secretary Palitha Range Bandara and former minister Sagara Rathnayake.

Meanwhile the name of Mr Ranil Wickremesinghe will be proposed at the next meeting of the Election Commission and afterwards it will be informed to the Parliament.

Mr Punchihewa said the next meeting of the commission is slated for Friday (June 18).

Whats-App-Image-2021-06-16-at-1-58-00-PM(Ada derana) 

Previous articleIndia assists Sri Lanka to promote solar power project
Next articleGas companies propose price hike