Well-balanced India takes on spirited NZ in WTC Final

India Skipper Virat Kohli (left) with New Zealand Captain Kane Williamson
India Skipper Virat Kohli (left) with New Zealand Captain Kane Williamson.

The 2019/21 World Test Championship (WTC) will reach its climax when India takes on New Zealand in the final at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton commencing today.

India are likely to play with a sixth batsman in overseas Tests but Ravindra Jadeja’s batting evolution means he can pip Hanuma Vihari to that spot and provide a spinning option while at it.

Barring any late injuries, New Zealand’s top seven will pick itself. Colin de Grandhomme won the selection battle with Daryl Mitchell, who was left out of the 15-man squad and will bat at seven as he did during the first Test against England at Lord’s.

The teams

New Zealand (Probable): Devon Conway, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (Captain), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, B. J. Watling, Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner/Ajaz Patel and Trent Boult.

India (Probable): Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravinchandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah.


Previous articleExpect Sri Lanka to remain mindful of bilateral ties: India on port project
Next articleRafael Nadal says he is pulling out of Wimbledon and Olympics