No confidence motion against Gammanpila handed over to Speaker

The no confidence motion against Energy Minister Udaya Gammanpila was handed over to Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardene today.

The motion was handed over by Chief Opposition Whip Lakshman Kiriella.

Last week, Several Members of Parliament representing the SJB signed a 10-point motion of no confidence against Energy Minister Udaya Gammanpila. This include failing in his duty of obtaining cabinet’s approval for the fuel price hike.

It alleged that the energy minister had proceeded to increase the fuel prices without the approval of the Cabinet of Ministers and thereby violated a pledge under the Constitution.

(Daily news)

Previous articleICC should come up with formula to find winner in case of drawn WTC final: Gavaskar
Next articleX-Press Pearl: Five sub-committees to assess damages caused by shipwreck