Diana Gamage files petition challenging expulsion from SJB

National List MP Diana Gamage has filed a petition with the Supreme Court challenging the decision taken by Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) to expel her from the party.

A total of eleven individuals including SJB’s General Secretary Ranjith Madduma Bandara, the party chairman and the Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa, Secretary-General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayake, Election Commission Chairman Nimal G. Punchihewa and Commissioner General of Elections Saman Sri Ratnayake have been named as its respondents.

The petitioner pointed out that the SJB moved to suspend her party membership for voting in favour of the 20th Amendment to the Constitution which was passed in Parliament with a two-thirds majority.

The respondents have not carried out a fair disciplinary inquiry before suspending her party membership, Gamage alleged, adding that it is in violation of the principles of natural justice.

Accordingly, she has requested the Supreme Court to issue an order revoking the SJB’s decision to suspend her party membership. – ada derana

Previous articleEaster attacks masterminds will be brought to justice under an SJB govt – Sajith
Next articleDaily count of coronavirus cases climbs to 592