Cabinet reshuffle: SB appointed Minister of Industries

SLPP Member of Parliament S.B. Dissanayake has been sworn in as the new Minister of Industries before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa at the Presidential Secretariat this evening (03).

Secretary to the President Gamni Senarath was also present on this occasion, the PMD said.

This comes after Ministers Wimal Weerawansa and Udaya Gammanpila were removed from their respective ministerial portfolios by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

The President’s Media Division said that under the powers vested in him by the Constitution, the President had removed the two MPs from their Cabinet minister posts with effect from today (03).

This was followed by the reshuffling of several key ministerial positions.

Gamini Lokuge was sworn in as the Minister of Energy while Pavithra Wanniarachchi was sworn in as the Minister of Power before the President this evening at the Presidential Secretariat, the PMD said.

PHU leader Udaya Gammanpila has served as the Minister of Energy while NFF leader Wimal Weerawansa served as Minister of Industries. – ada derana


Previous articleWimal and Gammanpila removed from minister posts
Next articleUkraine demands ceasefire, humanitarian corridors at talks with Russians