Srilanka Parliament Today – 05.04.2022

(Ada derana news)

Ranjith Siyambalapitiya resigns as Deputy Speaker

Deputy Speaker of Parliament Ranjith Siyambalapitiya has resigned from his position.

Accordingly, Siyambalapitiya has tendered his resignation to President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

Reportedly, he decided to step down from his position as the Deputy Speaker after the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) reached an agreement to function as an independent group in the parliament.

CWC decides to remain independent in Parliament

The Ceylon Workers’ Congress (CWC) says it has decided to function as an independent group in the parliament.

Meanwhile, the general secretary of the CWC, MP Jeevan Thondaman has resigned from his state ministerial portfolio.

He served as the State Minister of Estate Housing & Community Infrastructure.


Twelve SLPP MPs becomes independent in parliament

Twelve Members of Parliament representing ruling party Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) have decided to function as an independent group in the House.

MP Anura Priyadarshana Yapa announced the decision during the parliamentary proceedings this morning.

Meanwhile, MP Wimal Weerawansa stated that 16 other parliamentarians would remain independent in the House.


Dinesh appointed Leader of House, Johnston as Chief Govt Whip

Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena informed the Parliament today that Minister Dinesh Gunawardena has been appointed as the Leader of the House and Minister Johnston Fernando has been appointed the Chief Government Whip.

Parliament Sittings had commenced today (05) at 10.00 a.m. with time has been allotted for Questions for Oral Answers from 10.00 am to 11.00 am.

Thereafter, from 11.00 am to 4.30 pm, Regulations under the Medical Ordinance and Regulations under the Convention against Doping in Sport Act will be taken up for debate.

Immediately after the Government Business is over Contempt of Courts Private Member Bill will be presented to Legislative Standing Committee following the Second Reading.

Accordingly, time has been allotted from 4.30 p.m. to 4.50 p.m. for Questions at the Adjournment Time and the Motion at the Adjournment Time by the Government will be from 4.50 p.m. to 5.30 p.m.

Meanwhile MP Ranjith Siyambalapitiya has resigned from his position as the Deputy Speaker of Parliament.



Previous articlePUCSL calls for immediate appointment of Power & Energy Minister
Next articleSpeaker calls for special party leaders’ meeting later today